Letting Content Sit

On July 4th I was inspired.  I saw a James Dean movie that my boyfriend left out of the case and thought, “America is like James Dean, young, reckless and filled with too many drugs”.  Then I thought, “Wow, that was brilliant!  Write a post with that in it right away!” 

Once my thought process slowed from thinking of something brilliant (and yes, you can quote me), I realized how incredibly inappropriate it would be to publish that comment right away.  I mean, to post an insult about America on July 4th is simply bad taste.  Notice, I did not publish any of this until August.

So, here’s a little piece of advice – let your brilliant content sit.  It may seem just too cool to sit on, but do it any way and see how you feel about it in the morning.  Your reaction may surprise you.  This especially goes if you’ve been drinking.  Even a little bit.

Have you ever published something, then later gone “Woe is me!  Why on earth did I publish that?  Delete it quick!” Then realized that millions of people had already seen it since it was on your site?  Share.

Leave a comment